Heading to the seaside for the next round of the GT World Challenge Europe

Garage 59 is off to the seaside this weekend for the next round of the GT World Challenge Europe Sprint Cup. Zandvoort is a popular Netherlands seaside resort but nestling in the sand dunes is a famous racing circuit, best known for being the host of the Dutch Grand Prix and the Marlboro Masters.



Alexander West and Jonny Adam will again contest the Pro-Am category in the #188 Aston Martin Vantage, with Tuomas Tujula and Nicolai Kjærgaard campaigning the #159 Vantage in the Silver Cup class.


Zandvoort is an ‘old school’ Grand Prix circuit, which has been likened to a rollercoaster as it flows around the natural terrain of the dunes. With elevation changes, banking, blind turns and some super-fast kinks, it is a real test of skill and nerve. Being on the North Sea coast, the weather can often have a part to play so the team will be on full alert during the pair of 60-minute races coming up this weekend.


At the opening round of the Sprint Cup at Magny Cours, Tujula and Kjærgaard took sixth place in Race 1 and unfortunately retired after contact in Race 2 so the duo has their sights set on the podium in Zandvoort.


“I’m really looking forward to the weekend,” said Tujula. “I raced at Zandvoort a few years back in F4 and actually won my first ever single-seater race there! It’s without a doubt one of my all-time favourite circuits. The first round of the Sprint Cup was very promising and gave me a lot of confidence so hopefully we can capitalise on that and get some good results this weekend.”



Alexander West and Jonny Adam took a podium finish in the first of the two sprint races at Magny Cours and now they want to make it to the top step.


“I last raced at Zandvoort back in 2013 with British GT,” said Adam. “I really like the track; it has a good mixture of fast corners with cambered slower speed turns and some good overtaking opportunities. The best parts for me are the newly profiled cambered last corner and also Scheivlak, a fast downhill right-hand corner. Make a mistake there and you’ll be on the beach!


“We go into this race leading the overall Pro-Am championship and our target is of course to win both of the Pro-Am races this weekend to cement that lead but also get us up the Sprint Cup rankings.”


The first Sprint Cup race at Zandvoort will get underway on Saturday 19 June at 13:30 CEST / 12:30 BST. Race 2 is scheduled for Sunday 20 June at 14:30 CEST / 13:30 BST.