Garage 59 Vantage GT3 to tackle Pro-Am class at Suzuka

The Garage 59 squad is heading to Japan to race in this weekend’s round of the Intercontinental GT Challenge at Suzuka. The ‘Suzuka 10 Hours’ is the second longest race of the season for Garage 59 and it is a challenge that everyone is looking forward to.



The team will run a sole Aston Martin Vantage GT3 in the Pro-Am class at Suzuka for Alexander West, Chris Goodwin and Côme Ledogar.


“I raced at Suzuka for the first time last year,” said Ledogar. “The track is great: a high-speed, old-school circuit with really good corner sequences. The Vantage GT3 is a strong car that goes well at high-speed circuits like this so we should go well. It is a long race though so we must stay out of trouble and hope for reliability.”


Suzuka International Racing Course is best known as the home of the Japanese Grand Prix. With famous corners like the 130R, the rare figure-of-eight track has long been a favourite of many of the world’s top racing drivers.



“I love Japan and you can see that the Japanese people are the biggest motorsport fans in the world,” said Ledogar. “I really enjoyed meeting the Japanese fans last year and also just spending time in such a cool country. I also think that the Intercontinental GT Challenge is one of the very best championships in the world so I’m very happy to be at Suzuka.”


The Japanese fans will be able to see the Intercontinental challengers up close this Thursday lunchtime when, for the first time, the cars will drive from the circuit via closed public roads into the city centre.


The track action gets underway at Suzuka on Friday with multiple free practice sessions. Qualifying takes place on Saturday at 13:00 JST / 05:00 BST and the 10-hour race will get underway on Sunday at 10:00 JST / 02:00 BST. The full race will be shown live online at www.intercontinentalgtchallenge.com and on SRO’s YouTube channel ‘GT World’.

Copyright: 2020 Garage 59  | Built by: Sports Stars